(function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:1743088,hjsv:6}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'https://static.hotjar.com/c/hotjar-','.js?sv=');
Shopping Cart
Nina Simone, High Priestess Of Soul (Back To Black) LP
Nina Simone, High Priestess Of Soul (Back To Black) LP

Nina Simone, High Priestess Of Soul (Back To Black) LP

Urban Legends Store

Nina Simone


Vinyl LP pressing. High Priestess of Soul is the last album Simone released under Philips Records. The songs are accompanied by a large band directed by Hal Mooney. The album contains popular songs, such as "Don't You Pay Them No Mind" and African American gospel and folk related songs written by Simone herself, such as "Take Me to the Water" and "Come Ye." After this album title, Nina Simone was sometimes referred to as "the high priestess of soul." Nina Simone was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist who worked in a broad range of musical styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop. Simone's musical style fused gospel and pop with classical music, in particular Johann Sebastian Bach, and accompanied expressive, jazz-like singing in her contralto voice.


A1. Don't You Pay Them No Mind
A2. I'm Gonna Leave You
A3. Brown Eyes Handsome Man
A4. Keeper Of The Flame
A5. The Gal From Joe's
A6. Take Me To The Water
A7. I'm Going Back Home

B1. I Hold No Grudge
B2. Come Ye
B3. He Ain't Comin' Home No More
B4. Work Song
B5. I Love My Baby