Shopping Cart

LL Cool J, Radio (LP)

LL Cool J


Radio is the 1985 groundbreaking debut from rap legend LL Cool J and the flagship full-length release on Rick Rubin and Russell Simmons' Def Jam Recordings. Recorded when he was just 17 years old, Radio revolutionized rap with Rubin's bare-bones yet aggressive production peppered with DJ scratches and the occasional sample and rhymes arranged more like pop songs with verses, choruses, and bridges. With B-boy anthems like opener "I Can't Live Without My Radio," standouts like "Rock The Bells" and unprecedented rap ballads "I Want You" and "I Can Give You More," Radio represented a seismic shift in hip-hop history. In honor of Def Jam's 30th anniversary, the album has been reissued on standard black vinyl.



A1. "I Can't Live Without My Radio"
A2. "You Can't Dance"
A3. "Dear Yvette"
A4. "I Can Give You More"
A5. "Dangerous"
A6. "El Shabazz"

B1. "Rock the Bells"
B2. "I Need a Beat"
B3. "That's a Lie"
B4. "You'll Rock"
B5. "I Want You LL Cool J"