(function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:1743088,hjsv:6}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'https://static.hotjar.com/c/hotjar-','.js?sv=');
Shopping Cart
Nina Simone, Fodder On My Wings LP
Nina Simone, Fodder On My Wings LP

Nina Simone, Fodder On My Wings LP

Urban Legends Store

Nina Simone


Recorded in 1982, not long after she moved to Paris, Fodder On My Wings was one of Nina Simone’s favorite albums. In addition to having written the music and lyrics for all but one of the album’s 13 songs, the back cover proudly states that she “arranged, conducted and conceived” all of them. Originally recorded for a small French label and only sporadically available since its initial release, Fodder On My Wings is a lesser-known but important part of Nina’s musical history. The album contains deeply personal songs, including “I Sing Just To Know That I'm Alive” and “I Was Just A Stupid Dog To Them”, as well as a searing lyrical improvisation about the death of her father on “Alone Again, Naturally.” Recorded at a time when Nina was feeling rejuvenated by her surroundings and the African musicians she met in Paris, Fodder On My Wings is an essential Nina Simone album that is making a long-overdue reappearance.


A1. I Sing Just To Know That I'm Alive
A2. Fodder In Her Wings
A3. Vous êtes seuls, mais je désire être avec vous
A4. Il y a un baume à Gilhead
A5. Liberian Calypso
A6. Alone Again Naturally

B1. I Was Just A Stupid Dog To Them
B2. Color Is A Beautiful Thing
B3. Le peuple en Suisse
B4. Heaven Belongs To You
B5. Thandewye
B6. Stop
B7. They Took My Hand